My friend Jude Abell is creating some very intersting objects with recycled material including a conveyer belt, during her residency in Queenstown, Tasmania.

queeniedreaming

All sorts of lamp prototypes evolved here yesterday in a flurry of translucent material and mesh. I also learned how to solder, which I discovered is unbelievably simple to do, yet I’ve never learned. The prototypes evolved when I took apart an air filter, finding that it has an incredibly strong, double layer cage holding the filter fabric. I then used this mesh tube as a form to hold light and play with different materials. The filter fabric itself also made a pretty interesting lamp.
I think my favourite material for the lamp is the orange weave of the life raft fabric (another salvaged material I’ve been working with for a while).

20120424-162306.jpg

20120424-162320.jpg

20120424-162331.jpg

20120424-162339.jpg

20120424-162353.jpg

View original post

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

