201x / 12

2011 is almost over, a few days left. Someone just asked me ‘How has your year been?’ and I decided to answer via my blog. It started with a move of my studio from North-Hobart-single-room to Goodwood-warehouse-shared-space. I had been looking to share with other designers for years and finally found a great bunch of people inclusive affordable rent and ace coffee machine!

It was a year of exhibitions (in Alice Springs, Adelaide and Hobart), writing grants, receiving a design fellowship by Arts Tasmania (yay!), heaps of gardening and landscaping, type experimentation, graphic designing and teaching. One highlight was certainly the art-workshops I facilitated around climate change with Tasmanian students. I’m always amazed by the imagination of 10-year olds.

I’m really looking forward to travel to France next year to participate in a design workshop and am very grateful to Arts Tasmania for receiving the fellowship which allows me to go there. On the way I plan to visit a typography conference in Berlin or London to further my typography studies (and nerding away)

2011 involved challenges and learnings and jumping in a few deep ends. I managed to float in some but mostly swim. Hopefully challenges never stop, but wouldn’t mind if some would be a tiny bit easier. Thanks.

This entry was posted in Artists and Designers, Artworks, Climate Change, collaboration, Education, Inspiration, Language project, My Studio, Teaching, Typography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

